Regional Sites Announced

Regional Sites Announced


Regional Sites Announced


INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 64th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows: Arizona State (47-8), Tempe, Ariz.; Arkansas (40-18), Fayetteville, Ark.; Auburn (40-19), Auburn, Ala.; Cal State Fullerton (40-15 through Saturday, May 29), Fullerton, Calif.; Coastal Carolina (51-7), Conway, S.C.; Connecticut (47-14), Storrs, Conn.; Florida (42-15), Gainesville, Fla.; Georgia Tech (45-13), Atlanta; Louisville (48-12), Louisville, Ky.; Miami (Florida) (40-17), Coral Gables, Fla.; Oklahoma (44-15), Norman, Okla.; South Carolina (43-15), Columbia, S.C.; Texas (46-11), Austin, Texas; TCU (46-11), Fort Worth, Texas; UCLA (42-13), Los Angeles; Virginia (47-11), Charlottesville, Va.

The regional hosted by Coastal Carolina will be played at BB&T Coastal Field in Myrtle Beach , S.C. The regional hosted by Connecticut will be played at Senator Thomas J. Dodd Memorial Stadium in Norwich , Conn.

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team field. Arkansas, Auburn, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami (Florida), Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, UCLA and Virginia, have made the field as at-large selections. Arizona State (Pacific-10), Cal State Fullerton (Big West), Coastal Carolina (Big South) and TCU (Mountain West) have clinched automatic berths by virtue of winning their conference tournament championships.

Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 4, to Monday, June 7. Texas is hosting for the 25th time, while this will be the 23rd time that Miami ( Florida ) and the 20th time that Arizona State has hosted a regional.

South Carolina (12th) and Georgia Tech (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975. Cal State Fullerton and Florida are hosting for the ninth time, while Arkansas and Oklahoma are hosting a regional for the fifth time. Auburn and Virginia are hosting for the fourth time.

Coastal Carolina and Connecticut (first time since 1977) are hosting for the third time, while Louisville , TCU and UCLA (first time since 1986) are all hosting for the second time. Eight institutions ( Arizona State , Cal State Fullerton , Florida , Georgia Tech, Louisville , Oklahoma , Texas and TCU) also hosted in 2009.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday, May 31, during a live, half-hour program on ESPNHD. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 7 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET). There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 64th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 19, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha , Nebraska .


Southeastern               4 ( Arkansas , Auburn , Florida , South Carolina )

Atlantic Coast         3 [Georgia Tech, Miami ( Florida ), Virginia]

Big East                  2 ( Connecticut , Louisville )

Big 12                     2 ( Oklahoma , Texas )

Pacific-10               2 ( Arizona State , UCLA)

Big South                1 (Coastal Carolina )

Big West                 1 ( Cal State Fullerton )

Mountain West      1 (TCU)



Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney held court for over 30 minutes following Saturday’s scrimmage, the first of camp. Swinney said it was unusual to see the offense win the day and gave updates on a number of (…)


A Clemson receiver’s season is over before it began. The injuries have been piling up at the position early in preseason camp. Beaux Collins and E.J. Williams have been limited or held out of practice (…)

More The Clemson Insider