ACC Announces Academic Honor Role

ACC Announces Academic Honor Role


ACC Announces Academic Honor Role


By Staff Report.

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 54th annual Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Honor Roll, recognizing academic excellence by student-athletes during the 2009-10 academic year, was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

The Honor Roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.00 or better for the full academic year. The conference acknowledged 2,761 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom during the 2009-10 academic year.
Duke led the league with 424 selections. Boston College followed with 363. Maryland was third with 277 honorees, while North Carolina came in fourth with 262. Virginia had 246 student-athletes on the list, followed by Florida State with 216. Clemson and Virginia Tech each had 209 student-athletes recognized. NC State (168), Georgia Tech (155) and Wake Forest (149) and Miami (83) rounded out the list.
Headlining this year’s Honor Roll are 19 five-time honorees, led by Duke and Virginia Tech which each tallied four. Florida State, Georgia Tech, NC State, Virginia and Wake Forest were each represented by two student-athletes, while Clemson had one. The five-time ACC Honor Roll recipients include Clemson’s David Newton; Duke’s John Barone, Anna Farias-Eisner, Sam Payton and Steve Schoeffel; Florida State’s Lydia Willemse and Christina Woytalewicz; Georgia Tech’s Alana Clooten and Jay Dantzler; NC State’s Brittany Tinsley and Christopher Widman; Virginia’s Susan Brooks and Patrick Slebonick; Virginia Tech’s Alexander Baden, Adriana Lemaitre, Matej Muza and Brittany Popko; and Wake Forest’s Justin Evan Lichtfuss and Benjamin Matthew Wooster.
Additionally, this year’s ACC Academic Honor Roll includes 284 four-time honorees.
The 2009-10 Academic Honor Roll features 27 ACC Players of the Year. Those student-athletes include Clemson’s Patricia Mamona (women’s outdoor field); Duke’s Lindy Duncan (women’s golf) and Abby Johnston (women’s diving); Florida State’s Brianna Barry (volleyball), Susan Kuijken (women’s cross country), Tiffany McCarty (women’s soccer offensive) and Kim Williams (women’s indoor field); Georgia Tech’s Irina Falconi (women’s tennis), Gal Nevo (men’s swimming) and Jen Yee (softball); Maryland’s Caitlyn McFadden (women’s lacrosse), Hudson Taylor (wrestling) and Emma Thomas (field hockey defensive); North Carolina’s Mateo Sossah (men’s indoor field); Virginia’s Jennifer Cromwell, Katrin Reinert, Desiree Burns, Martha Kuzzy, Helen Tompkins, Nora Phillips, Summers Nelson (rowing crew members), Mei Christensen (women’s swimming), Emil Heineking (men’s cross country), Danny Hultzen (baseball pitcher), Ben Kohles (men’s golf) and Monica Wright (women’s basketball and women’s basketball defensive); and Virginia Tech’s Alexander Ziegler (men’s outdoor field).
The league has eight Freshmen of the Year named to the honor roll including Duke’s Juliet Bottorff (women’s cross country), Lindy Duncan (women’s golf), Brinson Paolini (men’s golf), Marcus Stroman (baseball) and Andrew Wenger (men’s soccer); Maryland’s Katie Schwarzmann (women’s lacrosse); North Carolina’s Marcus Holman (men’s lacrosse); and NC State’s Marissa Kastanek (women’s basketball).

The complete ACC Academic Honor Roll for the 2009-10 academic year is attached.



A former Clemson running back has signed with a new NFL team. The Arizona Cardinals reportedly signed former Clemson and South Carolina running back Tavien Feaster on Thursday. The MVA Sports Agency (…)


The 17th-ranked Clemson softball team will host Boston College in a four-game series this weekend at McWhorter Stadium in Clemson. Game 1 of the series will be Friday at 5 p.m. SERIES SETUP (…)


Former Clemson running back Travis Etienne announced a big deal on social media on Thursday. The ACC’s all-time leading rusher announced he is working with Panini America. Panini is the world leader in (…)

More The Clemson Insider