Allen on Mackey Award List

Allen on Mackey Award List


Allen on Mackey Award List


By Staff Report.

Clemson, SC—Clemson sophomore tight end Dwayne Allen is one of 32 players on the John Mackey Award preseason Watch List for the 2010 season.  The award is presented  by the Nassau County (New York) Sports Commission and is named in honor of former Baltimore Colts great John Mackey.

            Allen tied a Clemson freshman record in 2009 for touchdown receptions by a tight end with three and he had 10 receptions overall for 108 yards.  He started six games and played in all 14.   He  played alongside 2009 senior Michael Palmer last year.  Palmer, now with the Atlanta Falcons, was first-team All-ACC last year when he had 43 receptions, a record for a tight end. This year Allen figures to be one of the centerpieces of the Clemson offense.

            Allen was one of just three sophomores on the preseason Mackey Award Watch List.  The others are Ryan Griffin of Connecticut and D.C. Jefferson of Rutgers.  Allen was one of just four ACC tight ends on the list and is joined by George Bryan of NC State, Brett Huffman of Duke and Zach Pianalto of North Carolina.

            Allen is the sixth Clemson player named to a preseason Watch List so far.   The complete list is below:

      Player                           Award                                    Honor

      Dwayne Allen               Mackey Award                       Tight End

      DeAndre McDaniel       Thorpe Award                       Defensive Back

                                             Nagurski Award                    Top Defensive Player

                                             Bednarik Award                    Top Defensive Player

      Da’Quan Bowers          Lombardi Award                   Top Lineman

                                             Ted Hendrick Award            Top Defensive End

                                             Nagurski Award                    Top Defensive Player

      Jarvis Jenkins                Outland Trophy                     Top interior lineman

                                             Nagurski Award                    Top Defensive Player

      Dalton Freeman           Rimington Award                  Top Center

      Kyle Parker                   Maxwell Award                     National Player of the Year


More The Clemson Insider