Bowers Wins Hendricks Award

Bowers Wins Hendricks Award


Bowers Wins Hendricks Award


By Staff Report.

Clemson, SC—Clemson defensive end Da’Quan Bowers has been named the recipient of the 2010 Ted Hendricks Award.  The honor is presented each year  to the top defensive end in college football.  It is named after former Miami (FL) All-American Ted Hendricks, who went into a stellar NFL career as well.

Bowers is the first Clemson player to win the Ted Hendricks Award.  Earlier  this week, Bowers won the Bronko Nagurski Award, which is presented to the top defensive player in college football by the Football Writers Association and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.  Bowers is the first Clemson football player in history to win two major position awards in the same year.
“Da’Quan Bowers is an excellent choice for this year’s winner,” said Hendricks “ I like the way he plays the run because he really manhandles his opponents. This is an individual who possesses sheer natural talent. In the past, some have questioned his pass-rush abilities, but he’s the nation’s sack leader this year! Any more questions? Da’Quan clearly impressed our selection committee members, and i think they have made another fine choice.”

Bowers is also a finalist for the Lombardi Award, which goes to the top offensive or defensive lineman in college football. That award will be announced later this evening in Houston, TX.  He is also a finalist for the Bednarik Award, another honor that goes to the top defensive player in college football.  That award will be presented in Orlando on Thursday night.

“This is another great honor for Da’Quan,” said Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney,.  “He is on his way to becoming the most decorated Clemson football player in history.  Winning the Nagurski Award on Monday night was very special.  I was pleased to be a part of that as the keynote speaker at that banquet.  And now he has won the Hendricks Award as the top defensive end, another great national honor named after a legendary player.”

Bowers leads the nation in sacks with 15.5 and is second in tackles for loss with 25.  His sack total is second in Clemson history for one season, best among defensive linemen and is the most by an ACC player since 1999 when Keith Adams had a Clemson record 16 sacks.
Bowers’s tackle for loss total is the most by a Clemson defensive lineman since 1991 when Rob Bodine had 27.  Bowers had a streak of nine straight games with a sack during this season, the longest streak in Clemson history.

Last week, Bowers was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year.  

Bowers was also named a first-team All-American by on Wednesday and has already been named to the American Football Coaches Association All-American team.



Justyn Ross thinks the change in NCAA policy to allow student-athletes to profit of off their name, image and likeness is long overdue. The Clemson wide receiver hosted a meet and greet event in Greenville, (…)


Texas and Oklahoma announced their intent to leave the Big 12 following the 2024-25 academic year. Both schools are expected to join the SEC. The move indicates another shift in the landscape of college (…)


The Big 12 responded to Texas and Oklahoma declaring their intent to leave the conference upon the expiration of the Grant of Rights in 2025. Both are then expected to join the SEC. The statement is (…)


There continues to be plenty of buzz surrounding Clemson’s 2022 recruiting class. Sunday marked the beginning of the quiet period, which allowed for Clemson to kick off its All In Cookout. Most of (…)

More The Clemson Insider