Clemson Bowl History

Clemson Bowl History


Clemson Bowl History


By Trey McCurry.

The Tigers are 16-16 all-time in bowl games, dating back to the 1940 Cotton Bowl.  In the span, Clemson has played bowls in six separate states against 25 different teams. This year’s Meineke Car Care Bowl (in Charlotte, NC) against the South Florida Bulls represents both a new state and team the Tigers can add to their great bowl tradition. 

Clemson’s 16 bowl wins rank as the 18th most in NCAA history. Since 1985, the Tigers have made 22 bowl appearances, which ranks among the top-10 in the country during that time. Overall, nine of Clemson’s 16 wins have come against coaches who are in the College Football Hall of Fame. Four times, the Tigers have defeated a coach who is in the 200-victory club. 

A victory for Clemson in the Meineke Car Care Bowl would give the Tigers back to back bowl wins for the first times since 1990.

Today, takes a look back at Clemson’s great bowl tradition.

 1940 Cotton Bowl (Dallas, TX)                                Clemson 6, Boston College 3

1949 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 24, Missouri 23

1951 Orange Bowl (Miami, FL)                               Clemson 15, Miami (FL) 14

1952 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Miami (FL) 14, Clemson 0

1957 Orange Bowl (Miami, FL)                               Colorado 27, Clemson 21

1959 Sugar Bowl (New Orleans, LA)                      LSU 7, Clemson 0

1959 Bluebonnet Bowl (Houston, TX)                   Clemson 23, TCU 7

1977 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Pittsburgh 34, Clemson 3

1978 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 17, Ohio State 15              

1979 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Baylor 24, Clemson 18

1982 Orange Bowl (Miami, FL)                               Clemson 22, Nebraska 15

1985 Independence Bowl (Shreveport, LA)          Minnesota 20, Clemson 13

1986 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 27, Stanford 21

1988 Florida Citrus Bowl (Orlando, FL)                Clemson 35, Penn State 10

1989 Florida Citrus Bowl (Orlando, FL)                Clemson 13, Oklahoma 6

1989 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 27, West Virginia 7

1991 Hall of Fame Bowl (Tampa, FL)                    Clemson 30, Illinois 0

1992 Florida Citrus Bowl (Orlando, FL)                California 37, Clemson 13

1993 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Clemson 14, Kentucky 13

1996 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Syracuse 41, Clemson 0

1996 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               LSU 10, Clemson 7

1998 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Auburn 21, Clemson 17

1999 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Mississippi State 17, Clemson 7

2001 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Virginia Tech 41, Clemson 20

2001 Humanitarian Bowl (Boise, ID)                     Clemson 49, Louisiana Tech 24

2002 Tangerine Bowl (Orlando, FL)                      Texas Tech 55, Clemson 15

2004 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Clemson 27, Tennessee 14

2005 Champs Sports Bowl (Orlando, FL)              Clemson 19, Colorado 10

2006 Music City Bowl (Nashville, TN)                    Kentucky 28, Clemson 20

2007 Chick-Fil-A Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                       Auburn 23, Clemson 20 (OT)

2009 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Nebraska 26, Clemson 21

2009 Music City Bowl (Nashville, TN)                    Clemson 21, Kentucky 13



Walker Parks is not happy with the performance of Clemson’s offensive line in 2020, and neither is the rest of the unit. Parks, a talented rising sophomore offensive tackle, didn’t mince words when (…)


Tony Elliott may not coach the running backs at Clemson anymore, but he still coordinates the Tigers’ offense. That means he still knows what is going on at running back and according to Dabo Swinney’s (…)


Clemson’s five-game winning streak in the ACC has come to an end. After posting an undefeated February for the first time since 1990, the Tigers’ struggled to build any momentum in their 64-54 loss to (…)


After showcasing his immense potential in two starts last season while Trevor Lawrence was sidelined by COVID-19, D.J. Uiagalelei is now leading the way for Clemson at quarterback entering the 2021 season. (…)

More The Clemson Insider