Bowers Named First-team AP All-American

Bowers Named First-team AP All-American


Bowers Named First-team AP All-American


By Staff Report.

Clemson, SC—Clemson defensive end Da’Quan Bowers has been named a first-team All-American  by the Associated Press.   This is the fourth major All-America team for Bowers.  He was earlier named by the American Football Coaches Association, the Walter Camp Foundation and the Football Writers Association.

The final major All-America team to be announced is the Sporting News team.  if, Bowers is named to that team he will become just the fourth unanimous first-team All-American in Clemson history.  The others are Terry Kinard (1982), Gaines Adams (2006) and C.J. Spiller (2009).  Bowers would be the first to do it in his junior year.

Bowers could be considered the most honored Clemson player in history for a single season.  He became the first Clemson player to win the Nagurski Award and the Hendricks Award.  The Nagurski is selected by the Football Writers Association and goes to the top defensive player in college football.  The Hendricks Award goes to the top defensive end in college football. 

Bowers was also a finalist for the Lombardi Award and the Bednarik Award.  He was also named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year.

Bowers leads the nation in sacks with 15.5 and is second in tackles for loss with 25.  His sack total is second in Clemson history for one season, best among defensive linemen and is the most by an ACC player since 1999 when Keith Adams had a Clemson record 16 sacks.  He had a streak of nine consecutive games with a sack, a school record.  He is second on the team in tackles with 67.  Clemson is ninth in the nation in scoring defense and second in fewest rushing touchdowns allowed with six.

Bowers’s tackle for loss total is the most by a Clemson defensive lineman since 1991 when Rob Bodine had 27.  Bowers had a streak of nine straight games with a sack during this season, the longest streak in Clemson history.

Clemson’s First Team Associated Press All-Americans

      Year           Name                                                   Pos

      1939           Banks McFadden                                  B

      1959           Lou Cordileone                                      L

      1974           Bennie Cunningham                               TE

      1978           Jerry Butler                                           WR

      1979           Jim Stuckey                                          DT

      1981           Terry Kinard                                          FS

      1982           Terry Kinard                                          FS

      1987           David Treadwell                                     PK

      1990           Stacy Long                                           OT

      1991           Jeb Flesch                                            OG

      1993           Stacy Seegars                                      OG

      1997           Anthony Simmons                                 LB

      2000           Keith Adams                                         LB

2006           Gaines Adams                     LB

2009           CJ Spiller                              AP
2010           Da’Quan Bowers                   DE



Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney gave the latest on his Tigers after Wednesday’s practice.  Swinney updated the injuries, talked about early camp standouts and much more. Watch Swinney’s comments on TCITV: (…)


Clemson coach Dabo Swinney today updated one of the Tigers’ first significant injuries of preseason camp. Tre Williams missed time last season and this spring with various injuries, including both shoulders (…)

More The Clemson Insider