Branch Finalists for Hendricks Award

Branch Finalists for Hendricks Award


Branch Finalists for Hendricks Award


By Staff Report.

Clemson, SC—Clemson defensive end Andre Branch is one of 19 players named to the Final Mid-Season Watch List for the Ted Hendricks Award.  The honor goes to the top defensive end in college football and is named after former Miami (FL) defensive end Ted Hendricks.  Last year’s recipient was Clemson’s DaQuan Bowers.

Branch is the only ACC player on the list.  The native of  Richmond, VA leads the ACC in sacks and ranks 13th in the nation with 8.5 so far this season.  He also leads the Tigers and ranks third in the ACC in tackles for loss.  Branch is Clemson’s top tackler with 69 stops and he is trying to become the first defensive lineman since 1984 to lead the Tigers in tackles.  William Perry is the last defensive lineman to do it.

Branch has 53 first hits and 16 assists so far this year.  He also had 15 quarterback pressures.  His top game came in the win over 10th ranked Virginia Tech on October 1 when he had four sacks and six tackles for loss to tie Clemson single game records in both categories.  He had 11 total tackles in that game and was named ACC player of the Week by  Former Clemson All-American Keith Adams had four sacks and six tackles for loss against Duke in 1999.
2011 Ted Hendricks Award Final  Mid-season Watch List
Frank Alexander, Oklahoma
Jamie Blatnick, Oklahoma State
Andre Branch, Clemson
Norly Capi, Colorado State
Vinny Curry, Marshall
Adrian Hamilton, Prairie View
Travis Johnson, San Jose State
Brandon Joiner, Arknasas State
Mario Kurn, San Diego
Christian Lacey, Louisiana Tech
Corey Lemonier, Auburn
Stansly Maponga, TCU
Whitney Mercilus, Illinois
Sam Montgomery, LSU
Nick Perry, Southern California
Scott Solomon, Rice
Taylor Thompson, SMU
Tyrunn Walker, Tulsa
Trevardo Williams, UCONN


More The Clemson Insider