Clemson Bowl History

Clemson Bowl History


Clemson Bowl History


With the ACC Championship in hand the Tigers will go bowling for the 34th time when they travel to Orange Bowl. 

The Tigers are 16-17 all-time in bowl games, dating back to the 1940 Cotton Bowl.  In the span, Clemson has played bowls in seven separate states against 26 different teams. 

This year’s Discover Orange Bowl will mark the Tigers first trip to Miami since 1981, its fourth appearance overall, and its 19th bowl game in the state of Florida.  Clemson is 10-8 in their previous 18 trips to the Sunshine State and is 2-1 in its previous three trips to the Orange Bowl. The Tigers have faced West Virginia in a bowl game once in their history, a 27-7 win over the Mountaineers in the 1989 Gator Bowl. 

Clemson’s 16 bowl wins rank as the 18th most in NCAA history. Since 1985, the Tigers have made 23 bowl appearances, which ranks among the top-10 in the country during that time. Overall, nine of Clemson’s 16 wins have come against coaches who are in the College Football Hall of Fame. Four times, the Tigers have defeated a coach who is in the 200-victory club. 

Today, takes a look back at Clemson’s great bowl tradition. 

1940 Cotton Bowl (Dallas, TX)                                Clemson 6, Boston College 3

1949 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 24, Missouri 23

1951 Orange Bowl (Miami, FL)                               Clemson 15, Miami (FL) 14

1952 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Miami (FL) 14, Clemson 0

1957 Orange Bowl (Miami, FL)                               Colorado 27, Clemson 21

1959 Sugar Bowl (New Orleans, LA)                      LSU 7, Clemson 0

1959 Bluebonnet Bowl (Houston, TX)                   Clemson 23, TCU 7

1977 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Pittsburgh 34, Clemson 3

1978 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 17, Ohio State 15              

1979 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Baylor 24, Clemson 18

1982 Orange Bowl (Miami, FL)                               Clemson 22, Nebraska 15

1985 Independence Bowl (Shreveport, LA)          Minnesota 20, Clemson 13

1986 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 27, Stanford 21

1988 Florida Citrus Bowl (Orlando, FL)                Clemson 35, Penn State 10

1989 Florida Citrus Bowl (Orlando, FL)                Clemson 13, Oklahoma 6

1989 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 27, West Virginia 7

1991 Hall of Fame Bowl (Tampa, FL)                    Clemson 30, Illinois 0

1992 Florida Citrus Bowl (Orlando, FL)                California 37, Clemson 13

1993 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Clemson 14, Kentucky 13

1996 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Syracuse 41, Clemson 0

1996 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               LSU 10, Clemson 7

1998 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Auburn 21, Clemson 17

1999 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Mississippi State 17, Clemson 7

2001 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Virginia Tech 41, Clemson 20

2001 Humanitarian Bowl (Boise, ID)                     Clemson 49, Louisiana Tech 24

2002 Tangerine Bowl (Orlando, FL)                      Texas Tech 55, Clemson 15

2004 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               Clemson 27, Tennessee 14

2005 Champs Sports Bowl (Orlando, FL)              Clemson 19, Colorado 10

2006 Music City Bowl (Nashville, TN)                    Kentucky 28, Clemson 20

2007 Chick-Fil-A Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                       Auburn 23, Clemson 20 (OT)

2009 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Nebraska 26, Clemson 21

2009 Music City Bowl (Nashville, TN)                    Clemson 21, Kentucky 13

2010 Meineke Car Care Bowl (Charlotte, NC)       South Florida 31, Clemson 26



With one out in the bottom of the seventh inning Geana Torres singled up the middle to score two runs as Syracuse delayed 11th-ranked Clemson’s ACC Championship celebration with a 7-6 victory over the (…)

More The Clemson Insider