West Virginia Bowl History

West Virginia Bowl History


West Virginia Bowl History


By Trey McCurry.

West Virginia has a long bowl history including a Gator Bowl matchup with the Tigers.

The Mountaineers are 13-17 all-time in bowl games, dating back to the 1922 EastWest Bowl in San Diego, CA. In that span, West Virginia has played bowls in nine separate states against 21 different teams. 

This year’s Discover Orange Bowl will mark the Mountaineers first trip to the game, but it has appeared in two Carquest Bowls that were held in the same stadium. West Virginia lost the 1995 Carquest Bowl to South Carolina by a 24-21 margin and then suffered a 35-30 loss to Georgia Tech in the 1997 Carquest Bowl. 

West Virginia will be appearing in its 11th bowl game in the state of Florida and has a 1-9 mark in their previous 10 trips to the Sunshine State, including 1-7 against ACC teams.  Overall, the Mountaineers have faced an ACC team 13 times in a bowl game and are 4-9 in those contests. 

Today, TheClemsonInsider.com takes a look back at West Virginia’s strong bowl tradition. 

1922 EastWest Bowl (San Diego, CA)                     West Virginia 21, Gonzaga 13

1938 Sun Bowl (El Paso, TX)                                   West Virginia 7, Texas Tech 6

1949 Sun Bowl (El Paso, TX)                                   West Virginia 21, Texas Western 12

1954 Sugar Bowl (New Orleans, LA)                      Georgia Tech 42, West Virginia 19

1964 Liberty Bowl (Memphis, TN)                         Utah 32, West Virginia 6

1969 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               West Virginia 14, South Carolina 3

1972 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               NC State 49, West Virginia 13

1975 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               West Virginia 13, NC State 10

1981 Peach Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               West Virginia 26, Florida 6

1982 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Florida State 31, West Virginia 12

1983 Hall of Fame Bowl (Birmingham, AL)           West Virginia 20, Kentucky 16

1984 Bluebonnet Bowl (Houston, TX)                   West Virginia 31, TCU 14

1987 Sun Bowl (El Paso, TX)                                   Oklahoma State 35, West Virginia 33

1989 Fiesta Bowl (Tempe, AZ)                                Notre Dame 34, West Virginia 21

1989 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Clemson 27, West Virginia 7

1994 Sugar Bowl (New Orleans, LA)                      Florida 41, West Virginia 7

1995 Carquest Bowl (Fort Lauderdale, FL)          South Carolina 24, West Virginia 21

1997 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        North Carolina 20, West Virginia 13

1997 Carquest Bowl (Fort Lauderdale, FL)          Georgia Tech 35, West Virginia 30

1998 Insight.com Bowl (Tucson, AZ)                     Missouri 34, West Virginia 31)

2000 Music City Bowl (Nashville, TN)                    West Virginia 49, Ole Miss 38

2002 Continental Tire Bowl (Charlotte, NC)          Virginia 48, West Virginia 22

2004 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Maryland 41, West Virginia 7

2005 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Florida State 30, West Virginia 18

2006 Sugar Bowl (Atlanta, GA)                               West Virginia 38, Georgia 35

2007 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        West Virginia 38, Georgia Tech 35

2008 Fiesta Bowl (Glendale, AZ)                             West Virginia 48, Oklahoma 28

2008 Meineke Car Care Bowl (Charlotte, NC)       West Virginia 31, North Carolina 30

2010 Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, FL)                        Florida State 33, West Virginia

2010 Champs Sports Bowl (Orlando, FL)              NC State 23, West Virginia 7



Head Coach Dabo Swinney and Clemson Football announced Wednesday defensive end Justin Foster has indicated his intention to return to Clemson for the 2021 season. Foster had previously announced his (…)

More The Clemson Insider