Jordan elected to SC Hall of Fame

Jordan elected to SC Hall of Fame


Jordan elected to SC Hall of Fame


Former Clemson quarterback Homer Jordan, who led the Tigers to the 1981 National Championship, headlines the 2013 South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame Class.

Former Voice of the Tigers Jim Phillips, who passed away in 2003, and former Atheltic Director Bill McLellan join Jordan as the three representing Clemson in the 2013 Class.

Others elected include former South Carolina baseball coach Ray Tanner, South Carolina baseball great Hank Small; Furman basketball standout Clyde Mayes; The Citadel running back Travis Jervey; and legendary Bamberg-Ehrhardt High School baseball coach David Horton.

The eight individuals will be enshrined with the state’s highest athletic honor on May 13 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Tickets (table of eight for $500) and program sponsorships may be purchased by calling the SCAHOF office at 803/779-0905. The affair, which includes a reception and dinner, begins at 5:30 p.m.

In addition to the inductees donning of the symbolic blue jackets, the Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship Award recipient will also be recognized. The event, which includes a host of returning past inductees, is the largest annual celebration of Palmetto State sports stars under one roof. Legendary South Carolina State coach and 2008 SCAHOF President Willie Jeffries, known for his witticism, will again preside over the banquet as master of ceremonies along with Executive Director Ephraim Ulmer and this year’s president, Nicky McCarter of Columbia.

Jordan will always be remembered as the quarterback that led Clemson to the 1981 National Championship and Atlantic Coast Conference crown. That season, he led the team to a perfect 12-0 record as he was 107-196 in passing for 1,630 yards. He was also one of the team’s top rushers and was named the group’s most valuable player. Against Maryland in 1981, he was 20-29 in passing for 270 yards and also rushed for 42 giving him a 300-yard total offense day.

Jordan was Clemson’s offensive MVP in the 22-15 victory over Nebraska that clinched the National Championship for the Tigers. Jordan was 11-22 passing for 134 yards and a touchdown and also had 46 yards rushing on 16 carries in that memorable Orange Bowl. He ran out the clock with dexterity on the final Clemson drive, and then passed out after the game from heat exhaustion.

During his senior year, a knee injury forced Jordan to miss a good bit of the season. Still, he helped the 1982 team to a 9-1-1 record and a number-eight national ranking. He played professionally in the Canadian Football League for two seasons with theSaskatchewan Roughriders.

The legendary “Voice of the Clemson Tigers” for 36 years, Phillips passed away on September 9, 2003 and at the time was the only Atlantic Coast Conference play-by-play announcer to broadcast his school’s football, basketball, baseball and women’s basketball games.

A five-time recipient of the South Carolina Broadcaster of the Year Award, Phillips, in1992, was presented the Master Broadcaster Award by the South Carolina Association of Broadcasters. Inducted into the Clemson Athletic Hall of Fame in 1992, Phillips, in 1998, received the Skeeter Francis Award from the Atlantic Coast Conference Sportswriters Association for his contributions to ACC athletics.

In addition to his duties at Clemson, Phillips was the sports director at WYFF-TV from 1968-80 and the sports director at WFBC Radio in Greenville for 25 years. He was also the “Voice of the Greenville Braves” from 1985-91. Over his career he broadcast more than 2,000 Clemson sporting events and also served as host of the Clemson football and basketball coach’s shows for many years. He broadcast his 1,000th Clemson men’s basketball game at the 2002 ACC Tournament in Charlotte. During his Clemson career, he missed just one broadcast of a basketball game in Littlejohn Coliseum.

A 1954 graduate of Clemson who was a two-time letterwinner, McLellan served as business manager (1956-66), assistant AD (1966-71) and director of athletics (1971-85). During his tenure he oversaw an annual budget that grew from $3 million to more than $15 million.

McLellan oversaw the revitalization of Clemson Memorial Stadium from 18,000 seats to more than 80,000, making the facility the first on-campus stadium to construct sky boxes. IPTAY witnessed an increase in donations from $400,000 in 1971 to more than $5 million in 1985. Under his leadership, women’s athletics were added and the famed Tiger Paw was introduced.

During his tenure, Clemson captured the 1981 National Football Championship and the 1984 National Soccer Championship. Men’s basketball received its first NCAA Tournament invitation in 1980 and advanced to the Elite Eight. McLellan was inducted into the Clemson Athletic Hall ofFame in 1993, having received Clemson’s Alumni Distinguished Service Award in 1982.



A future Clemson Tiger was honored this week. Clemson commitment Toriano Pride received his All-American Bowl jersey during a virtual presentation on Wednesday night as part of the Road to the (…)

More The Clemson Insider