Blossomgame earns another All-ACC honor

Blossomgame earns another All-ACC honor


Blossomgame earns another All-ACC honor



Clemson forward Jaron Blossomgame has been named First-Team All-ACC by the ACC coaches on Monday. On Sunday he was named First-Team All-ACC by the media.

Joining Blossomgame on the All-ACC team was North Carolina’s Brice Johnson, Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon, Duke’s Grayson Allen and NC State’s Cat Barber.

Brogdon was voted the ACC Player of the Year by the league’s head coaches and leads that group’s list of postseason honors and all-conference teams. He was also voted the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, and Duke’s Brandon Ingram was the overwhelming choice as the ACC Freshman of the Year.

Clemson center Landry Nnoko was named to the All-ACC Defensive team as well. He led the ACC in blocks per game (2.4) during the regular season, accumulating a career-high 71 over 30 games. He is the primary factor the Tigers lead the ACC as a team in blocks per game.

Nnoko posted a career-best eight blocks at Virginia Tech, most by any ACC player in a game this season. Heading into the ACC Tournament, Nnoko is fifth in Clemson history with 212 blocks over his career.

Blossomgame averages 18.6 points per game to rank third in the conference and has scored 20-or-more points in 15 games. Blossomgame’s big scoring nights have included games of 33 and 31 points. The redshirt junior ranks among the ACC leaders in field goal percentage (.516) and is averaging 6.7 rebounds per game.

Blossomgame scored 373 points in the ACC regular season, third-most in program history.

Miami’s Jim Larrañaga was voted the ACC Coach of the Year, while North Carolina junior Isaiah Hicks earned recognition as Sixth Man of the Year. Blossomgame and Allen tied in the coaches’ voting for the ACC’s Most Improved Player.

Notre Dame’s Demetrius Jackson (15.9 ppg, 4.97 apg), Miami’s Sheldon McClellan (15.7 ppg, .852 FT percentage), Duke’s Ingram (16.7 ppg, 6.8 rpg), Syracuse’s Michael Gbinije (17.6 ppg, 4.5 apg) and Georgia Tech’s Marcus Georges-Hunt (16.6 ppg, 18.1 ppg in ACC play) comprise the coaches’ All-ACC second team.

Louisville’s Damion Lee (15.7 ppg, .843 FT percentage), Virginia’s Anthony Gill (13.6 ppg, .556 FG percentage), Pitt’s Michael Young (16.1 ppg, 54 percent shooting from the floor), Notre Dame’s Zach Auguste (14.5 ppg, 10.4 rpg) and Miami’s Tonye Jekiri (9.1 rpg, .525 shooting percentage) earned third-team All-ACC honors in the coaches’ voting.


2016 ACC Basketball Postseason Honors (Coaches)

All-Atlantic Coast Conference

(5 points for first-team vote, 3 points for second-team, 1 point for third-team)

First Team

Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina                                                *75

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia                                                      *75

Grayson Allen, So., Duke                                                                     69

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson                                                  65

Cat Barber, Jr., NC State                                                                       60


Second Team

Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame                                             45

Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami                                                          44

Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke                                                                41

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse                                                           36

Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech                                     32


Third Team

Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville                                                                30

Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia                                                                   21

Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh                                                         15

Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame                                                           9

Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami                                                                         9


Honorable Mention:

Malik Beasley, Florida State, Fr.; Zach LeDay, Jr., Virginia Tech; Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville; London Perrantes, Jr., Virginia; Devin Thomas, Sr., Wake Forest.


All-ACC Freshman Team                                                                   

Brandon Ingram, Duke                                                                       15

Malik Beasley, Florida State                                                              15

Dwayne Bacon, Florida State                                                           14

Malachi Richardson, Syracuse                                                         14

Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest                                                          8


All-ACC Defensive Team                                                                   

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia                                                        15

Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami                                                                      12

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse                                                             8

Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson                                                                8

Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville                                                         6

Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina                                                    6


ACC Player of the Year                                                                        

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia


ACC Freshman of the Year                                                                

Brandon Ingram, Duke


ACC Coach of the Year                                                                         

Jim Larrañaga, Miami


ACC Defensive Player of the Year                                                

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia


ACC Most Improved Players of the Year                               

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson

Grayson Allen, So., Duke


Sixth Man of the Year                                                                          

Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina


* Unanimous selection

Photo Credit: Dawson Powers-USA TODAY Sports



Clemson returned to the practice fields for the fourth day of fall camp on Monday. Check out the pictures from what Dabo Swinney called a “fun” practice. Photo Gallery –Photos courtesy of Clemson (…)

More The Clemson Insider