Watson named finalist for O’Brien Award

Watson named finalist for O’Brien Award


Watson named finalist for O’Brien Award

Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson was named a finalist for the 2016 Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s best quarterback on Monday.

Louisville’s Lamar Jackson and Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield were also named finalist for the prestigious award.

Watson, who won the Davey O’Brien Award last year, has completed 66.4 percent of his 420 passes for 3,279 yards and 28 touchdowns. Watson leads the ACC in passing yards and touchdowns as well as in passing yards per game at 298.1 yards per game.

Watson has guided No. 3 Clemson to 10 wins already this season and to an ACC Atlantic Division title. He is coming off a game in which he completed 23 of 33 passes for 202 yards, touchdown and no interceptions in a 35-13 win at Wake Forest which clinched the division title.

The Davey O’Brien Award will be presented at the Home Depot College Football Award Show on Dec. 8 at 7 p.m. in Atlanta. The show will air on ESPN.

The Home Depot College Football Awards show highlights the achievements of college football student-athletes in 2016.  Twenty-four players were selected as finalists for the nine National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) awards given annually during the show.

The nominees will be featured during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special on Nov. 22 at 3 p.m. on ESPNU.

NCFAA awards announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards:

Chuck Bednarik Award

College Defensive Player of the Year


Jonathan Allen, Alabama (Sr.)

Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (So.)

Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (Jr.)

Biletnikoff Award

Outstanding Receiver


Austin Carr, Northwestern (Jr.)

Zay Jones, East Carolina (Sr.)

Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma (RS Sr.)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker


Daniel Carlson, Auburn (Jr.)

Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State (Sr.)

Younghoe Koo, Georgia Southern (Sr.)

Ray Guy Award

College Punter of the Year


Michael Dickson, Texas (So.)

Cameron Johnston, Ohio State, (GS)

Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah, (So.)

Maxwell Award

College Player of the Year


Lamar Jackson, Louisville (So.)

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (RS Jr.)

Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (Jr.)

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Nation’s Best Quarterback


Lamar Jackson, Louisville (So.)

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (RS Jr.)

Deshaun Watson, Clemson (Jr.)*

Outland Trophy

Nation’s Most Outstanding

Interior Lineman

Pat Elflein, Ohio State (Sr.)

Cody O’Connell, Washington State (RS Jr.)

Cam Robinson, Alabama

Jim Thorpe Award

Nation’s Best

Defensive Back

Adoree’ Jackson, USC (Jr.)

Jourdan Lewis, Michigan (Sr.)

Tre’Davious White, LSU (Sr.)

Doak Walker Award

Nation’s Premier

Running Back

Dalvin Cook, Florida State (Jr.)

D’Onta Foreman, Texas (Jr.)

Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State (Sr.)

Other awards recognized during The Home Depot College Football Awards:


The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award


Winner be announced

on Wednesday, Dec. 8


NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award Winner to be announced on

Wednesday, Nov. 30


Disney Spirit Award

Most Inspirational


James Conner, Pittsburgh (RS Jr.)
William V. Campbell Trophy

Academic Success

The 12 finalists for the Campbell Trophy were announced on Tuesday, Nov. 1.


The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Team captain will be announced

on Wednesday, Nov. 23


Walter Camp All-America Team Team to be announced

on Thursday, Dec. 8



Awards recognized during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special at 6 p.m. on ESPNU:


John Mackey Award

Outstanding Tight End


Jake Butt, Michigan (Sr.)

O.J. Howard, Alabama (Sr.)

Jordan Leggett, Clemson (Sr.)

Rimington Award

Outstanding Center


Finalists to be announced on

Monday, Dec. 5; Winner announced live

on the Red Carpet

Wuerffel Trophy

Community Service


Garrett Adcock, New Mexico (RS Sr.)

Trevor Knight, Texas A&M (Sr.)

Christian McCaffrey, Stanford (Jr.)

–Staff Reports


More The Clemson Insider