Clemson announces summer depth chart

Clemson announces summer depth chart


Clemson announces summer depth chart

Head Coach Dabo Swinney announced the 2017 summer depth chart for the Clemson football team on Monday. The Tigers have 13 starters returning, five on offense and seven on defense, plus returning starter at kicker, Greg Huegel.

The Clemson two-deep is young as only five seniors or graduate students are listed. Those players are starting graduate defensive backs Ryan Carter and Marcus Edmond, starting guard Tyrone Crowder, graduate reserve tight end D.J. Greenlee and starting senior linebacker Dorian O’Daniel.

Junior Kelly Bryant is the starting quarterback and is backed up by red-shirt Zerrick Cooper and true freshman Hunter Johnson as co-second team signal callers. This will mark the first time since the 2014 season that Clemson does not have a returning quarterback with a start on his resume entering the season. That was also the case for Clemson under Swinney to being the 2011 season. Clemson went 10-3 in 2014 and 10-4 in 2011.

Clemson has two returning first-team All-ACC players in the offensive line in Mitch Hyatt and Tyrone Crowder. On defense, Clemson returns first-team All-American Christian Wilkins at defensive tackle. He earned All-America honors at defensive end last year. The Clemson defense also returns first-team freshman All-American Dexter Lawrence, and third-team All-ACC safety Van Smith, Kicker Greg Huegel is a two-time All-ACC player.

Clemson begins the 2017 season September 2 at home against Kent State.

–Staff reports


More The Clemson Insider