Clemson holds football awards banquet

Clemson holds football awards banquet


Clemson holds football awards banquet

Clemson held its annual football awards banquet at the Poe Indoor Football Facility this past Saturday. Dabo Swinney and his assistant coaches handed out awards in various on the field, academic, community service and strength training areas.

The offensive most valuable players, known as the Tiger Pride Awards were presented to quarterback Kelly Bryant and offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt.

Hyatt is just the second offensive lineman to receive an MVP award in the last 30 years. Kalon Davis was also honored in 2014.

On the defensive side the ball, Clelin Ferrell, Ryan Carter and Dorian O’Daniel were honored with Tiger Pride Awards.

The  PAW award that is given for outstanding play, academic excellence, community service went to junior tight end Milan Richard.

Former Clemson outside linebacker and 1981 National Champion Mark Richardson was presented with the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award. Richardson is a member of the Clemson Board of Trustees and has many years of success in the business world in Charlotte and as a vice present of the Carolina Panthers.

The evening concluded with the honoring the permanent captain for 2017. Those players were offensive linemen Tyrone Crowder, Mitch Hearn, Maverick Morris, defensive lineman Christian Wilkins, linebacker Dorian O’Daniel and cornerback Ryan Carter.

Clemson Football Season Awards for 2017 Season

Offense Awards

      Solid Rock Award (most solid, consistent and dependable player at each position)

      Position                                 Recipient

Running Back                        Adam Choice

Wide Receiver                       Hunter Renfrow, Ray-Ray McCloud

Tight End                               Milan Richard

Offensive Line                       Mitch Hyatt

Quarterback                          Kelly Bryant

Hustle Award                         Maverick Morris and Sean Pollard

12th Man Award                     Travis Etienne and Tremayne Anchrum

Iron Man Award                     Kelly Bryant and Taylor Hearn

Most Improved                      Justin Falcinelli, Tavien Feaster, D.J. Greenlee

Rookie of the Year                Travis Etienne and Tee Higgins

Scout Team POY                   Baylor Spector and Kyle Cote

Special Teams POY               Ray-Ray McCloud

Tiger Pride (MVP)                  Kelly Bryant and Mitch Hyatt

Special Awards

Future Impact Players          Amari Rogers, T.J. Chase, John Simpson

PAW Award                            Tyrone Crowder, Trevion Thompson

Specialist of the Year           Will Spiers

Most Improved Specialist     Alex Spence

Defensive Awards

Solid Rock Award     (most solid, consistent and dependable player at each position

      Position                                 Recipient

Defensive Backs                    Ryan Carter and Van Smith

Defensive Tackles                 Christian Wilkins

Defensive Ends                      Clelin Ferrell

Linebackers                           Kendall Joseph

Hustle Award                         Christian Wilkins and Clelin Ferrell

12th Man Award                     J.D. Davis and K’Von Wallace

Iron Man Award                     Ryan Carter and Christian Wilkins

Most Improved                      J.D. Davis, Albert Huggins,

Austin Bryant, Trayvon Mullen

Rookie of the Year                A.J. Terrell, Isaiah Simmons

Scout Team POY                   Will Brown and Chase Brice

Special Teams POY               Isaiah Simmons and Jamie Skalski

Tiger Pride MVP                    Clelin Ferrell, Ryan Carter, Dorian O’Daniel

Future Impact Players          A.J. Terrell, Justin Foster,

Isaiah Simmons, Shaq Smith

Dexter Lawrence, Tanner Muse

PAW Award                            Milan Richard

Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement   Mark Richardson

Highest GPA Freshman          Darien Rencher

Highest GPA RS Freshman     Will Brown

Highest GPA Sophomore        Carson King

Highest GPA Junior                Alex Spence

Highest GPA Senior                Maverick Morris

Highest GPA Team                 Hall Morton

Nieri Center Awards:              K’Von Wallace, John Simpson, Shaq Smith, Taylor Hearn

Strength Training All-Americans      Christian Wilkins, Mitch Hyatt, Clelin Ferrell

Strength Dedication Awards             Garrett Williams, Dorin O’Daniel

All-In Accountability Award              Captain–Christian Wilkins

Team Members: Hunter Johnson, Nolan Turner, Austin Jackson, Cade Stewart, Blake Vinson, Xavier Kelly, Seth Penner, Trevion Thompson, Jordan Williams, Will Brown, James Edwards, Amari Rodgers, Luke Price, Peter Cote

Spiritual Leadership Award               J.D. Davis, Judah Davis

Captains Awards                                Taylor Hearn, Tyrone Crowder, Maverick Morris

                                                                 Christian Wilkins, Ryan Carter, Dorian O’Daniel

–Staff Reports



When Clemson began preparation for its Cotton Bowl matchup with Notre Dome this past Wednesday, Dabo Swinney could tell his team had the previous 10 days off. “We looked like we had not practiced in a week (…)


Clemson men’s basketball coach Brad Brownell said on Friday he does not think guard Marcquise Reed will play in Saturday’s game against Radford. If he does not play, it will mark the second straight (…)

More The Clemson Insider