Swinney wins Woody Hayes award for national coach of the year

Swinney wins Woody Hayes award for national coach of the year


Swinney wins Woody Hayes award for national coach of the year


The Touchdown Club of Columbus announced Sunday Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney has earned the Woody Hayes Award, presented annually to college football’s coach of the year.

Clemson has posted a 13-0 record this season, one win shy of the team record for wins set in 2015 and 2016. Yesterday, Swinney’s Tigers won their fourth consecutive ACC championship, earning a 42-10 win against Pittsburgh in the ACC Championship Game in Charlotte. Clemson became the first school in conference history to win four consecutive outright titles and became the first Power Five program to win four straight conference championship games since Florida in 1993-96.

Swinney becomes the second Clemson head coach to earn the honor since the award’s inception in 1977. Danny Ford was Clemson’s first Woody Hayes Award winner, collecting the honor following Clemson’s 12-0 national championship season in 1981.

The 2018 Woody Hayes Award will be presented during the 64th Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on Saturday, Feb. 9 in Columbus, Ohio.  A full list of all-time winners of the Woody Hayes Award is included below:

  • 2018: DABO SWINNEY, Clemson
  • 2017: SCOTT FROST, UCF
  • 2016: JAMES FRANKLIN, Penn State
  • 2015: KIRK FERENTZ, Iowa
  • 2013: GUS MALZAHN, Auburn
  • 2012: URBAN MEYER, Ohio State
  • 2011: BILL SNYDER, Kansas State
  • 2010: JIM HARBAUGH, Stanford
  • 2008: MIKE LEACH, Texas Tech
  • 2007: MARK MANGINO, Kansas
  • 2006: JIM TRESSEL, Ohio State
  • 2005: JOE PATERNO, Penn State
  • 2004: URBAN MEYER, Utah
  • 2003: BOB STOOPS, Oklahoma
  • 2002: JIM TRESSEL, Ohio State
  • 2001: RALPH FRIEDGEN, Maryland
  • 2000: BOB STOOPS, Oklahoma
  • 1999: FRANK BEAMER, Virginia Tech
  • 1998: PHIL FULMER, Tennessee
  • 1997: LLOYD CARR, Michigan
  • 1996: BRUCE SNYDER, Arizona State
  • 1995: GARY BARNETT, Northwestern
  • 1994: TOM OSBORNE, Nebraska
  • 1993: DON NEHLAN, West Virginia
  • 1992: DENNIS ERICKSON, Miami
  • 1991: DON JAMES, Washington
  • 1989: BOBB ROSS, Georgia Tech
  • 1988: LOU HOTLZ, Notre Dame
  • 1987: DICK MacPHERSON, Syracuse
  • 1986: JOE PATERNO, Penn State
  • 1985: BO SCHEMBECHLER, Michigan
  • 1984: DON JAMES, Washington
  • 1983: TOM OSBORNE, Nebraska
  • 1982: JOE PATERNO, Penn State
  • 1981: DANNY FORD, Clemson
  • 1980: VINCE DOOLEY, Georgia
  • 1979: EARLE BRUCE, Ohio State
  • 1978: JOE PATERNO, Penn State
  • 1977: LOU HOLTZ, Arkansas



There are two things Ben Boulware knows he is good at… “I am good at football and I know how to work out.” So, the former Clemson linebacker, who helped the Tigers win their first national (…)


No surprise, but the Clemson men’s basketball team did not receive an NCAA Tournament bid on Sunday. Clemson accept an invitation to play in the National Invitational Basketball Tournament instead. The Tigers (…)

More The Clemson Insider