MacArthur Bowl to Clemson, Dabo Swinney

The National Football Foundation will formally present Clemson University and head coach Dabo Swinney with the NFF MacArthur Bowl, the organization’s national championship trophy for the NCAA Division I – Football Bowl Subdivision, during a ceremony at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in Atlanta. The NFF previously announced Clemson (14-1) as the recipient of the trophy following its 35-31 victory against Alabama (14-1) in the College Football Playoff National Championship on Jan. 9 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla.

The ceremony will mark the official unveiling of the trophy with Clemson’s name permanently etched on the fabled archways of the historic trophy, joining the previous 59 teams who have been recognized since the coveted honor was first bestowed in 1959. Members of the public with general admission tickets to the Hall may attend the event, which may be purchased in advance by visiting cfbhall.com or on the day of the event at the Hall of Fame Box Office.


Thursday, June 1

5:15 p.m. ET


College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience

250 Marietta St., N.W Atlanta, GA 30313


With its 2016 championship, Clemson claimed the MacArthur Bowl for the second time in the school’s history. The Tigers previously won the MacArthur Bowl at the end of the1981 season under 2017 College Football Hall of Fame electee Danny Ford. Presented to every national champion since 1959, the MacArthur Bowl represents the pinnacle of team achievement in college sports, and each year a new name has been etched alongside the greatest teams of all time.

–Staff Reports

Latest News


With the 82,000 fans in attendance still holding their collective breaths, Clemson running back Travis Etienne allowed them all to breathe a sigh of relief. The freshman, who has been the talk of the (…)


Clemson regained a 14-7 lead over Boston College on a six-yard touchdown run from Adam Choice. The drive took 7 plays and covered 67 yards over the course of 3:11. The Tigers began with their best field (…)