Swinney named finalist for Eddie Robinson Award

Swinney named finalist for Eddie Robinson Award


Swinney named finalist for Eddie Robinson Award

Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney has been named one of the eight finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

The Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced eight finalists for the 2017 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award during a National Football Foundation news conference at the New York Hilton Midtown.

The other finalists are Bill Clark, UAB; Scott Frost, UCF; Lane Kiffin, Florida Atlantic; Jeff Monken, Army; Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma; Kirby Smart, Georgia; and Jeff Tedford, Fresno State.

Of the eight coaches, Swinney is the only one on the list to be a former finalist for the award. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 14.

Swinney has led the defending national champions back to the College Football Playoff for the third straight year. The Atlantic Coast Conference champions (12-1) and top seed in the playoff will meet Alabama in the Sugar Bowl on New Year’s Day in New Orleans, a rematch of the last two national championship games.

Swinney, who led the Tigers to their third straight ACC Championship this season, was a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award in 2011 and ‘15. Swinney is in his 10th season at Clemson, where he has compiled a 101-29 record.

–Staff Reports



What’s trending on The Clemson Insider today? A number of things, including an update to TCI’s football Depth Tracker, Seth Beer continuing to impress, Clelin Ferrell setting a scam artist (…)


There is a quote from George Washington Carver in Clemson’s Indoor Practice Facility that says, “When you do the common things in an uncommon way, you will command the attention of the world.” (…)

More The Clemson Insider