Renfrow wins Bobby Bowden Award

Renfrow wins Bobby Bowden Award


Renfrow wins Bobby Bowden Award


The Bobby Bowden Award Selection Committee announced Friday that Clemson wide receiver Hunter Renfrow has been named the winner of the 2018 Bobby Bowden Award, given annually to the Division I player who epitomizes dedication to faith, family, friends and football.

Renfrow won the award among a pool of finalists that included Kansas State offensive lineman Dalton Risner and Notre Dame linebacker Drue Tranquill.

Renfrow becomes the second Clemson player to earn the honor since the award’s inception in 2003. Quarterback Deshaun Watson won the award following the 2016 season, giving Clemson two of the award’s three most recent recipients.

The award will be presented to Renfrow at Cottage Hill Baptist Church in Mobile, Ala., on Sunday following his participation in the Reese’s Senior Bowl on Saturday. Among those expected to attend will be Clemson Co-offensive coordinator Jeff Scott, who served as Renfrow’s position coach, as well as Clemson Director of Player Development Brad Scott, who spent 11 seasons at Florida State coaching on the staff of the award’s namesake, Bobby Bowden.

Earlier this year, Renfrow collected the 2018 Burlsworth Trophy, presented to college football’s most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on.

He concluded his Clemson career ranked fifth in school history in career receptions (186) and 11th in career receiving yards (2,133) in addition to recording 15 career receiving touchdowns. Renfrow exits Clemson holding school records in career starts by a wide receiver (47) and consecutive games with a reception (43).

A full list of Bobby Bowden Award winners is included below:

2003: Jason Wright, Northwestern

2004: Billy Bajema, Oklahoma State

2005: D. J. Shockley, Georgia

2006: Carl Pendleton, Oklahoma

2007: Jacob Tamme, Kentucky

2008: Stephen McGee, Texas A&M

2009: Colt McCoy, Texas

2010: Christian Ponder, Florida State

2011: Case Keenum, Houston

2012: Ashton Richardson, Auburn

2013: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

2014: Bryce Petty, Baylor

2015: Ty Darlington, Oklahoma

2016: Deshaun Watson, Clemson

2017: Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State

2018: Hunter Renfrow, Clemson

Clemson Athletic Communications

Move over Alabama, Clemson is the new King of College Football. In our new magazine “Little Ole Clemson”: The Best “Little” Dynasty Ever, we examine not just the 2018 team’s run to being “the best ever” but examine the last four seasons and how Dabo Swinney turned Clemson into the new dynasty of college football. We also take a look at the role former athletic director Terry Don Phillips played. We go behind the scenes at the Tigers’ run to a second national championship in three seasons and the previous three national championship runs. It also features stories on the Power Rangers, the 2018 senior class, high quality photos and much, much more.

We are pleased to announce that our latest magazine is ready for Preorders.  Get your order in today to make sure you get a copy of this collector’s edition.

Order Here



DURHAM, N.C. — As the game went on, catcher Kyle Wilkie could see the look of despair in the eyes of the Louisville players on Thursday. The Cardinals had no answer for Clemson lefty Mat Clark, who pitched (…)

More The Clemson Insider